As expression of support to the Civil Service Commission’s Pamanang Lingkod Bayani (PLB) Program, more than 1,500 government officials and employees in the Region and La Union province participated in the Fun Run and Zumba 2018 which was held on September 6, 2018 at the Poro Point Freeport Zone and Baywalk, San Fernando City, La Union. The said activity was spearheaded by the Civil Service Commission Regional Office 1 and La Union Field Office in cooperation with the Association of Regional Executives (AREX) in Region 1.

More than 50 agencies in La Union, comprising of national government agencies, local government units, government-owned and controlled corporations, and one state university, participated in the said event. The Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University (DMMMSU) had the highest number with more than 400 instructors and non-teaching personnel participating in the run and Zumba.

The program began at 4:30 in the morning with a brief calisthenics/stretching led by DMMMSU personnel and the reading of the oath of sportsmanship by DMMMSU President Atty. Benjamin Sapitula. La Union 1st District Board Member Jonathan Justo Orros, representing La Union Governor Francisco Emmanuel Ortega, and Office of Civil Defense Regional Director Melchito Castro (AREX President) gave the welcome remarks and inspirational message, respectively. Simultaneous to the run, which lasted for around 45 minutes, was the Zumba for the non-runners. Some of those who finished the race eventually joined in the Zumba for another 30 minutes. The event, which posted a record-high in attendance, ended at 8:00.

Medals, cash prizes, and tokens were given to the 12 podium finishers under four (4) categories. The top runners were:

  • 3km - Male

1st Reymark Ferrer (DMMMSU Mid La Union Campus)

2nd Darwin Gacad (Baccuit National High School)

3rd Ronnel Lontoc (PNP La Union PMFC)

  • 3km - Female

1st Nerissa Maglaya (BFP Region 1)

2nd Megan Maslang (BFP Region 1)

3rd Venus Gacad (BJMP Region 1)

  • 5km - Male

1st Shindy Mark Marqueses (DSWD Region 1)

2nd Francis Domingo (DepEd Region 1)

3rd Renge Jeff Rigonan (DMMMSU Central Administration)

  • 5km - Female

1st Chilli Pepper Chan (PNP Region 1-RMFB)

2nd Cherry Rose Motea (PNP Region 1-RMFB)

3rd Christine C. Taganas (PNP Region 1-RMFB)

In appreciation of their significant contribution to the event, CSC Director IV Hedy Jose B. Lardizabal and OIC Director III Violeta Nipal-Mendoza also handed out certificates of appreciation and tokens to partner-agencies, namely, AREX, DMMMSU, Provincial Government of La Union, Sangguniang Panlalawigan of La Union, City Government of San Fernando, Poro Point Management Corporation, Philippine Information Agency-RO1, Ilocos Training and Regional Medical Center, Philippine National Police and Smart Communications.


CSC Quick Survey

Dear Visitor,

Thank you for visiting the official website of the Civil Service Commission. Before you can proceed with the download, may we ask you to help us out on a survey for us to better improve our services.