“It is with pride that I announce the winners of the Civil Service Commission (CSC) Pagasa Award as these lingkod bayani are considered gems in public service. They belong to that distinct group of government workers who, quietly and without fanfare, pursued their public service mandates with indefatigable commitment, excellence, and integrity, to the extent of putting their lives on the line in the spirit of delivering much needed services, especially in the grassroots.”

This was remarked by CSC Chairperson Karlo A. B. Nograles as he announced the winners of the 2022 Search for Outstanding Government Workers. The annual Search has three categories—the Presidential Lingkod Bayan, the Outstanding Public Officials and Employees or Dangal ng Bayan, and the CSC Pagasa. The latter is conferred on an individual or group of individuals for outstanding contributions that directly benefit more than one department of the government.

One of the recipients of the CSC Pagasa Award is the Community-based Rice Mushroom Production Team of the Bataan Peninsula State University (BPSU). Their initiative uplifted the lives of rice farmers in Bataan by introducing and promoting an integrated farming system approach through mushroom production, vermin composting, and off-season vegetable production using rice straws. The team's research-based technology transfer trainings, capacity building on crop diversification, and entrepreneurial skills development for farmers have significantly improved the latter’s production capacity, productivity, competitiveness, and sustainability.

Another CSC Pagasa awardee is Chief Education Supervisor Ailene B. Añonuevo from the Department of Education’s Division of Panabo City in Davao del Norte. She made sure that education is accessible to indigenous peoples or IP. Her research on the alarming dropout rate of IP learners due to the distant location of their schools, as well as her dedication to initiate the project and establish partnerships with donors, led to the construction of Balay Paglaum Para sa Estudyanteng Lumad, an initiative which resulted to zero non-reader and zero dropout records, and with IP beneficiaries finishing secondary education.

Rounding up the recipients of the CSC Pagasa are: Professor VI Edward A. Barlaan of the University Of Southern Mindanao, Kabacan, North Cotabato; Master Teacher I Pablita R. Cabarles of Manga National High School, Division of City Schools-Tagbilaran City, Department of Education; City Government Department Head I (City Health Officer) Dr. Fulbert Alec R. Gillego of the City Government of Legazpi; and the eGOV Technical Team of the Provincial Local Government Unit of Davao De Oro.

The annual Search for Outstanding Government Workers is administered by the CSC’s Honor Awards Program (HAP). For more information on the Search and the awardees, contact the HAP Secretariat, Public Assistance and Information Office through email address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; Contact Center ng Bayan email address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., and via the CSC Facebook page at