“Patuloy na naghahanap ang Komisyon sa Serbisyo Sibil ng mga lingkod bayan na nagpamalas at patuloy na nagpapamalas ng mahusay at tapat na serbisyo publiko at katangi-tanging kontribusyon na may malaking epekto sa pag-unlad ng ating bayan.”

This was the statement of Civil Service Commission (CSC) Chairperson Karlo Nograles as he urged heads of government agencies and the public to nominate deserving government officials and employees to the 2023 Search for Outstanding Government Workers.

The CSC’s Honor Awards Program (HAP) is an annual activity which aims to recognize and reward public service exemplars, as well as motivate or inspire civil servants to improve the quality of their performance and instill deeper involvement in public service.

The CSC said that all government workers in the career and non-career service, including appointive barangay officials, may be nominated. Posthumous nomination is also accepted for public servants who died in the line of duty or in the pursuit of their official duties and responsibilities. Job order or contract of service employees are excluded from the coverage of the program.

The HAP has three award categories: the Presidential Lingkod Bayan (PLB) Award, the CSC Pagasa Award, and the Outstanding Public Officials and Employees or the Dangal ng Bayan (DNB) Award. These are the highest and most coveted recognition given by the government to individuals or group of individuals who have excelled or shown utmost dedication and commitment to public service.

The PLB Award is conferred on an individual or group of five members for exceptional or extraordinary contributions resulting from an idea or performance that had a nationwide impact on public interest, security, and patrimony. One of the 2021 PLB awardees is Philippine General Hospital (PGH) Director Dr. Gerardo Legaspi, who charted and carried out a visionary course for PGH as a premier institution for medical service, training, and research.

Meanwhile, the CSC Pagasa Award is conferred on an individual or group of five members for outstanding contributions resulting from an idea or performance that directly benefit more than one department of the government. Last year’s awardees include University of Southern Mindanao Professor VI Edward Barlaan and the eGOV Technical Team of the Provincial Local Government Unit of Davao De Oro. Barlaan was recognized for his pioneering works on plant breeding and genetics which greatly helped the agricultural industry, particularly the cacao, banana, coconut, and palm industries; while the eGOV Technical Team was awarded for effectively harnessing and championing eGovernance in improving public service delivery in their province through the development of various information and communications technology or ICT systems.

On the other hand, the DNB Award is conferred on an individual for performance of an extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior based on observance of the eight norms of conduct provided under Republic Act No. 6713, or the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees. Four educators were hailed as 2022 DNB recipients, namely, Principal II Rowan Celestra of Buenavista Elementary School, Sorsogon City for his commitment to public service by providing quality education; Head Teacher I Ju-Im Jimlan of Tamalagon Integrated School, Aklan for upholding student welfare; Librarian II Antonio Morada of the Department of Education Regional Office V, Legazpi City for catering to the poor and the underprivileged; and Teacher III Rizalina Nacpil of San Manuel Elementary School, Tarlac City for initiating community-based programs.

The CSC Regional and Field Offices nationwide are accepting nominations to the 2023 Search until 31 March 2023. Submission of nomination documents may be done electronically. For the guidelines, nomination procedures, and other details, visit the CSC website at or

For queries, contact the Honor Awards Program Secretariat through email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; or email the CSC’s Contact Center ng Bayan at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or text 0908-88-16565.